Pro Tips >

Kees Van Oostrum Named ASC President

Kees Van Oostrum takes over the role of ASC president.

The Board of Governors of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has elected Kees Van Oostrum to serve as president of the organization. This is Oostrum’s first term, which will run for one year, beginning immediately. The ASC Board also selected its slate of officers. They include: Bill Bennett, Dean Cundey and Lowell Peterson as vice presidents; Levi Isaacs as treasurer; Fred Goodich as secretary; and Roberto Schaefer as sergeant-at-arms.

“It is our task as an organization to educate the industry on the value of the cinematographer as authors of the images, to be involved in advancing imaging technology, and most importantly, to promote our artistry,” said Van Oostrum in a press release posted June 14th, 2016. “I’m honored to be selected along with these officers to lead my peers and colleagues into new visual frontiers, and continue the educational mission of the organization.”

The 2016-2017 ASC Board members who voted for the new officers are: John Bailey, Curtis Clark, Richard Crudo, Fred Elmes, Michael Goi, Victor J. Kemper, Stephen Lighthill, Daryn Okada, Woody Omens, Robert Primes, Cynthia Pusheck, Owen Roizman and John Simmons. Alternate Board Members include: Mandy Walker, Karl-Walter Lindenlaub, and Oliver Bokelberg.

Oostrum previously served as vice president and has fulfilled other roles over the years on the ASC Board. He is also the chairman and originator of the ASC Masterclasses. The Masterclass, taught by award winning ASC members, is one of several educational initiatives of the ASC.

The ASC supports many initiatives to help the next generation of filmmakers, as well as ongoing educational programs that highlight the important role of the cinematographer, especially in today’s digital workflows and democratization of tools. In addition to the Masterclass, the ASC supports many other initiatives geared at fostering and educating the next generation of cinematographers, including its Student Heritage Awards, Breakfast Club seminars, panel discussions by the Education and Outreach committee, the Friends of the ASC membership.

“The Masterclasses have been very successful and we hope to expand them to an international level,” adds Van Oostrum. “With partner associations worldwide and the support of our community of associate members, there is great promise in the immediate future to develop these and new programs that will help promote the importance of authorship in the creation of artful content.”

A native of Amsterdam, Van Oostrum studied at the Dutch Film Academy with an emphasis on both cinematography and directing.  He earned a scholarship sponsored by the Dutch government allowing him to enroll at the American Film Institute (AFI).  Van Oostrum has worked consistently throughout his professional career, and has been recognized by the Television Academy with Primetime Emmy® nominations for Miss Rose White and Return to Lonesome Dove,  a TV film that received the 1994 ASC Outstanding Achievement Award. He’s also received ASC nominations for The Burden of Proof, Medusa’s Child, and Spartacus. Currently, he” the DP on the television series The Fosters.

For additional information about the ASC, visit, or join ASC on Facebook at .