Articles >

New And Returning Winners Honored At Emerging Cinematographers Awards

Standing amongst his peers at the American Society of Cinematographers Clubhouse on an unusually warm September afternoon, Devin Doyle recalled standing in the very spot one year prior. Doyle, who was recognized during the 2014 International Cinematographers Guild Emerging Cinematographers Award ceremony, was thrilled to find himself returning to the Clubhouse as a member of the 2015 nominees.

“I’m still emerging,” smiled Doyle, who was nominated this year for his work on “Fish Friend,” a stop-motion short featuring a young girl who befriends a duplicitous piranha. Chatting with first time nominee Jason Hafer (Incident on Highway 73) at an annual awards luncheon held September 24th, the two agreed nothing matches the recognition of their peers as they continued to branch into the realm of cinematography.

“I graduated in the spring, and got married last weekend,” said Hafer. “This award means so much to me as I continue to transition.”

Doyle and Hafer were joined by six additional nominees. They included first time nominees Tobin Oldach (Thirst), Daniel Cotroneo (The Other Side) and John Garrett (Delia). Returning ECA nominees included David Kruta (Lullaby) who, like Doyle, received a nomination last year, T.J. Williams, Jr. who was first nominated in 2013, and this year’s grand prize winner, Michael Nie (Dust) who was first nominated in 2011. The Emerging Cinematographers Awards accept submissions from members of the ICG Local 600 who are not yet directors of photography.

This year’s ECA winners were recognized during a special celebration Sunday, September 27th where their short films were screened, the top award of a $50,000 Panavision package was presented to Nie, and each winner received additional goodies from sponsors of the event including Tiffen, Rosco, The Rag Place, Mole-Richardson, Litepanels, and J.L. Fisher. Their celebration began at the luncheon where they were officially presented to press during an award celebration that also recognized four special award recipients. While work prevented Mandy Walker, who received the Kodak Cinematography Mentor of the Year Award, Steven Tiffen who received the Canon Award for Advancement in Digital Technology and Bruce Sheridan, who received the Nat Tiffen Award for Excellence in Cinematography Education from attending this year’s luncheon, David Heuring, the winner of the William A. Fraker Cinematography Journalist of the Year award, was honored to receive his award at the ASC Clubhouse. Based in Michigan, Heuring has been reporting on the art and innovators in cinematography for over thirty years.

“It seems upside down and backwards for me to be accepting an honor in this room. I feel I should be giving you something,” said Heuring. “Thank you so much, I am deeply grateful.”

ICG President Steven Poster shared his reverence for the ASC’s continued support of the ECAs. Noting that the ICG was a trade union and the ASC a “functional organization dedicated to the craft and employment of cinematographers” he expressed his gratitude in having the honorees invited to the club house for lunch.

“There are a lot of memories built here. When you look around the room you see the great cinematographers who have gone on to win Emmys and Oscars and set a path for all to follow,” said Poster. “This is a very special place.”

Prior to the ECA ceremony, the eight men met with agents and received tips on how to gain representation that would prove beneficial to furthering their careers. Up next for this year’s ECA winners: a special event taking place in New York City on Sunday, October 25th, at the School of Visual Arts Theater. The honoree’s films will be screened, followed by a cocktail reception. To reserve your spot at this special event, please visit:

To learn more about the Emerging Cinematographers Awards, please visit: