Articles >

2017 ASC Theatical Nominees Announced


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced nominees in the Theatrical Release and Spotlight categories for the 31st Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Winners will be named on February 4 at the Society’s awards gala held at Hollywood & Highland’s Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Theatrical Release nominees this year include:

  • Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for “Lion”
  • James Laxton for “Moonlight”
  • Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for “Silence”
  • Linus Sandgren, FSF for “La La Land”
  • Bradford Young, ASC for “Arrival”

The cinematographers named in the theatrical release category are first time nominees with the exception of Rodrigo Prieto.  He has two previous nominations: in 2003 for “Frida” and 2006 for “Brokeback Mountain.”

Below is the complete list of the 31st ASC Award Nominees that were previously announced.

  • Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot:
    • Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC, for Harley and the Davidsons “Amazing Machine”
    • Paul Cameron, ASC for Westworld “The Original”
    • Jim Denault, ASC for All The Way
    • Alex Disenhof for The Exorcist “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee”
    • Igor Martinovic for The Night Of “Subtle Beast”
  • Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television:
    • John Conroy for Penny Dreadful “The Day Tennyson Died”
    • David M. Dunlap for House of Cards “Chapter 45”
    • Anette Haellmigk for Game of Thrones “Book of the Stranger”
    • Neville Kidd for Outlander “Prestonpans”
    • Fabian Wagner, BSC for Game of Thrones “Battle of the Bastards”
  • Regular Series for Commercial Television:
    • Tod Campbell for Robot “”
    • John Grillo for Preacher “Finish the Song”
    • Kevin McKnight for Underground “The Macon 7”
    • Christopher Norr for Gotham “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze”
    • Richard Rutkowski for Manhattan “Jupiter”
  • Spotlight:
    • Lol Crawley, BSC for Childhood Of A Leader
    • Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC for House Of Others
    • Ernesto Pardo for Tempestad
    • Juliette van Dormael for My Angel
  • Theatrical Release:
    • Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, Lion
    • James Laxton, Moonlight
    • Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC, Silence
    • Linus Sandgren, FSF, La La Land
    • Bradford Young, ASC, Arrival
  • Lifetime Achievement Award:
    • Edward Lachman, ASC
  • Board of Governors Award:
    • Denzel Washington
  • Career Achievement in Television Award:
    • Ron Garcia, ASC
  • International Award:
    • Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC
  • Presidents Award:
    • Nancy Schreiber, ASC

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award Winners

  • Undergraduate:
    • Emmett Sutherland, Closer
  • Graduate:
    • Andrew Jeric, Prisoner

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award Winner

  • Documentary:
    • Colin F. Shepherd, Into the Microscope

For more information about the ASC and the Awards Ceremony, please visit: