Articles >

La La Land, Hidden Figures, Westworld Included In 2017 Costume Designers Guild Awards

Nominees have been announced for the 19th CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) celebrating excellence in film, television, and short-form Costume Design.  The evening’s gala will be hosted by actress/singer Mandy Moore.  The black-tie awards gala will be held February 21, 2017 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Continuing its long-time support of the Guild for 14 years, LACOSTE is returning as Presenting Sponsor of the CDGA which is produced by JumpLine. As previously announced, three-time Academy Award® winning Actress Meryl Streep will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award in recognition of her support of Costume Design and creative collaborations with Costume Designers. In addition, legendary Costume Designer Jeffrey Kurland will receive this year’s Career Achievement Award for his outstanding work in film and television. Illustrator, Lois DeArmond, will be honored with the Distinguished Service Award and Costume Designer, Ret Turner, will be posthumously inducted into the Guild’s Hall of Fame.

Below is a complete list of the 2017 Costume Designers Guild Awards:

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie – Rebecca Hale

Captain Fantastic – Courtney Hoffman

La La Land – Mary Zophres

Lion – Cappi Ireland

Nocturnal Animals – Arianne Phillips


Excellence in Period Film

The Dressmaker – Marion Boyce, Margot Wilson

Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle

Hail, Caesar! – Mary Zophres

Hidden Figures – Renee Ehrlich Kalfus

Jackie – Madeline Fontaine


Excellence in Fantasy Film

Doctor Strange – Alexandra Byrne

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Kubo and the Two Strings – Deborah Cook

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Colleen Atwood

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Crossman, Glyn Dillion


Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

American Horror Story: Roanoke – Lou Eyrich, Helen Huang

Empire – Paolo Nieddu

Grace & Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger

House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris

Transparent – Marie Schley


Outstanding Period Television Series

The Crown – Michele Clapton

Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Stranger Things, Series – Kimberly Adams, Malgosia Turzanska

Westworld, Pilot – Trish Summerville

Westworld, Series – Ane Crabtree


Outstanding Fantasy Television Series

Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton, April Ferry

The Man in the High Castle – J.R. Hawbaker

Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro

Sleepy Hollow – Mairi Chisholm

The Walking Dead – Eulyn C. Womble


Excellence in Short Form Design

Beyoncé: “Hold Up” – B. Åkerlund

Dos Equis: “The Most Interesting Man in the World – Mission to Mars” – Julie Vogel

Dos Equis: “The New Most Interesting Man in the World Traverses the Sand and the Serengeti” – Liz Botes

H&M: “Come Together” featuring Adrien Brody, directed by Wes Anderson – Milena Canonero

Pepsi: “Momotaro” Episode Four, featuring Jude Law — Ami Goodheart