Articles >

Hollywood Post Alliance Presents 2011 Awards

The sixth annual Hollywood Post Alliance Awards (HPA) were presented in early November, recognizing outstanding post production work in film, television and commercial productions.  Angus Wall, A.C.E. and Kirk Baxter, A.C.E., continued their excellence in editing reign with their win for Outstanding Editing – Feature Film for "The Social Network."  Two other award darlings, "Mad Men" and "Boardwalk Empire" saw their respective Color Grading and Compositing experts walk away with awards.

Three special awards that had been previously announced in August were also presented that evening.  Below is a complete list of this year’s Hollywood Post Alliance Award winners:

Outstanding Color Grading using a DI process for Feature Film

"The Help" – Steven J. Scott, EFILM

Outstanding Color Grading for Television

"Mad Men: Blowing Smoke"  – Tim Vincent, LaserPacific

Outstanding Color Grading for a Commercial

"Nissan: Zero" – Siggy Ferstl, Company 3

Outstanding Editing for a Feature Film

"The Social Network" – Angus Wall, A.C.E. and Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing for Television

"Downtown Abby: Series 1, Episode 1" John Wilson, A.C.E., Carnival Film & Television

Outstanding Editing for a Commercial

"American Express: Curtain" – Chris Franklin, Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound for a Feature Film

"Green Lantern" – John Reitz, Gregg Rudoff and Rick Kline , Warner Bros. Post Production Services and Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers, Soundelux

Outstanding Sound for Television

"House: Bombshells" – Brad North, Joe DeAngelis, Luis Galdames and Jackie Oster, Universal Studios Sound

Outstanding Sound for a Commercial

"Dream House: Trailer #1" – David Brolin, Universal Studios Sound and Bill Neil, Buddha Jones Trailers

Outstanding Compositing for a Feature Film

"Transformers: Dark of the Moon" – Jeff Sutherland, Jason Billington, Chris Balog and Ben O’Brien, Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Compositing for Television

"Boardwalk Empire: Boardwalk Empire" – Paul Graff, Brian Sales, Merysa Nichols and Jesse Siglow, Crazy Horse Effects, Inc.

Outstanding Compositing for a Commercial

"Jameson: Fire" Dan Glass, Gabby Gourrier, Chris Bankoff and Jeff Willette, Method Studios

Lifetime Achievement Award

Cyril Drabinsky, President and CEO  of Deluxe Entertainment Services Group, Inc.

Engineering Excellence Awards:

Dolby Laboratories for the Professional Reference Monitor

Sony Professional Solutions of America for the OLED Monitor

Lightcraft Technology for the Previzion

IBM for the Linear Tape File System

Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation

Testronic Labs for the File-Based QC Lab

Steven J. Scott of EFILM for the "Tree of Life" DI Environment