Articles >

Exciting Below The Line Developments In 2015 Award Season

The 2015 award season is proving to be a very interesting one for below-the-line professionals.  Breaking from the tradition of highlighting scripts, actors, directors and features, the Academy of Motion Pictures Science and Technology will announce all nominees in the twenty four categories celebrated at the Oscars ceremony on February 22nd.

“Each of the three years we’ve produced the show, we have attempted to refresh elements of the process and the telecast,” said Oscar producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron in a press release sent by AMPAS. “This year, we’re honored to start a new tradition that celebrates the contributions of all the nominees by announcing all 24 categories. ”

The announcements will begin at 5:30am PST, with directors Alfonso Cuaron and J.J. Abrams presenting the nominees in the categories of: Animated Feature Film, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Film Editing, Original Song, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Visual Effects.

At 5:30am PST, actor Chris Pine alongside Academy President Sheryl Boone Isaacs will present the nominees for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Cinematography, Costume Design, Directing, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay and Best Picture.

On Tuesday the Visual Effects Society will release the nominations for the 13th Annual VES Awards, to be held February 4, 2015.  They will join the growing slate of professionals who have been recognized be the below the line guilds:

ACE – American Cinema Editors – January 30, 2015

Feature Film – Dramatic

Joel Cox, ACE & Gary Roach, ACE – American Sniper

Sandra Adair, ACE – Boyhood

Kirk Baxter, ACE – Gone Girl

William Goldenberg, ACE – The Imitation Game

John Gilroy, ACE – Nightcrawler

Tom Cross – Whiplash

For a complete list of categories and nominees, please visit:


ADG – Art Directors Guild – January 31, 2015

Feature Film – Contemporary

James J. Murakami/Charisse Cardenas – American Sniper

Kevin Thompson – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Jess Gonchor – Foxcatcher

Donald Graham Burt – Gone Girl

Kevin Kavanuagh – Nightcrawler

For a complete list of all nominees and categories, please visit:



ASC – American Society of Cinematographers , February 15, 2015

Feature Film

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC – Unbroken

Oscar Faura – The Imitation Game

Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Dick Pope, BSC – Mr. Turner

Robert D. Yeoman, ASC – The Grand Budapest Hotel

For a complete list of all nominees and categories, please visit:


CDG – Costume Designers Guild,  February 17, 2015

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Albert Wolsky – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Kari Perkins – Boyhood

Trish Summerville – Gone Girl

Mary Zophres – Interstellar

Melissa Bruning – Wild

For a complete list of nominees and categories, please visit: