Articles >

“Adventure Time” Big Winner In 2016 Television Academy Animation Juried Awards Winners

The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 68th Emmy® Awards in Animation. The juried awards for Animation will be presented during the Creative Arts Emmy program taking place Sunday, September 11, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California.

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence there are no nominees, but rather a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury considers the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.

The 2016 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, executive produced by Bob Bain, will be held over two nights: Saturday, September 10, and Sunday, September 11. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 17, from 8:00 – 10:30 PM (ET/PT) with an encore from 10:30 PM – 1:00 AM (ET/PT).

This year’s juried winners include:
Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Adventure Time * Bad Jubies * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios in association with Bix Pix Entertainment

Jason Kolowski, Production Designer

Adventure Time * Stakes Pt. 8: The Dark Cloud * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios

Tom Herpich, Storyboard Artist

He Named Me Malala * National Geographic Channel * Fox Searchlight Pictures in association with Image Nation Abu Dhabi and Participant Media

Jason Carpenter, Animation Production Designer

Long Live The Royals * Punk Show * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios

Chris Tsirgiotis, Background Designer

Robot Chicken DC Comics Special III: Magical Friendship * Adult Swim * Stoopid Buddy Stoodios

Scott DaRos, Character Animator