Articles >

20th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards Honorees Announced

The Intentional Cinematographers Guild (ICG) has announced the names of the honorees for the 20th Annual Emerging Cinematographers Awards (ECA).  Chosen from roughly 100 submissions, this year’s list  of ten individuals includes digital imaging technicians, camera operators and loaders.

The honorees will be recognized in events occuring in Los Angeles, New York and Atlanta, Georgia.  The three events will feature the short films exhibiting their award worthy work.  Event locations and dates include: the Directors Guild of America Theater in Los Angeles on September 25, 2016. A New York screening will follow on October 30 at the SVA Theatre with a second showing at SCADshow in Atlanta on November 13.

This year’s honorees are:

Derek C. Fisher, Loader (Use Your Oui Oui)
Dan Hertzog, 2nd Asst. Camera (Earthbound)
Eric M. Hurt, Operator (Elemental)
Spencer Hutchins, Operator (Walker)
Alexa Ihrt, Operator (Born In Battle)
Matt Irwin, Operator (Emeralds)
Clifford Jones, Digital Imaging Technician (In Memory)
Karina Silva, Operator (Doble 9)
John Veleta, Digital Imaging Technician (Pop Music)
Alejandro A. Wilkins, Operator (Limbo)

The ECAs were developed by Local 600 as a means of nurturing talent within the Guild and providing promising cinematographers the crucial exposure they need to succeed in the motion picture industry.   The ECAs are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a Director of Photography. Members are asked to submit films they have photographed with a running time of 30 minutes or less. The ICG is the only organization in the entertainment industry that offers its members the opportunity to be recognized and the chance to further their careers.

The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can be seen by a wider audience at film festivals.

In a press release presented by Local 600 on June 30th, 2016, ICG President Steven Poster stated, “I am continually amazed and delighted by the high standards in these short films. It shows, once again, that our camera crews are the best trained and most professional in the world. And we are grateful to our generous sponsors, who come back year after year, knowing that these young filmmakers are their future customers.”

The event is sponsored entirely by industry manufacturers and vendors. This year’s sponsors include Canon USA Inc., Tiffen, Adorama, ARRI, CW Sonderoptic, K5600, Lee Filters, Light Iron, Panavision, Sony Electronics, Technicolor, AbelCine, B&H, Band Pro, Blackmagicdesign, Cineo Lighting, Clairmont Camera, Codex, Dolby Labs, Illumination Dynamics, JL Fisher, KinoFlo, Kodak, LiteGear, Litepanels, Mole-Richardson Co., Panasonic, Rosco, Sekonic, Sim Digital, Small HD, The Rag Place, Zeiss, Keslow Camera, Matthews Studio Equipment.

For more information about the Emerging Cinematographers Awards please visit: