Articles >

Steve Rennie : Industry Veterans Discuss Bonnaroo, The Festival Business And More

Industry veteran, Steve Rennie (aka “Renman”), has uploaded a new episode of the Renman Live webcast series featuring an exclusive interview with AC Entertainment founder, Ashley Capps, on this YouTube video:

In the nearly 25-minute discussion, filmed at the Pollstar Convention in Nashville, Tenn., Rennie and Capps chat about the ins and outs of the festival business, how he took Bonnaroo from a parking lot concert to what it is today and more.

In addition to the latest installment , past episodes of Renman Live are re-broadcasting on the Renman Music & Business YouTube channel at: http://www.youtube.com/user/renmanmb.

Featuring interviews with the smartest, most talented, most successful people in the music biz, episodes of Renman Live air each weekday on YouTube at 10:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. EDT), 1:00 p.m. PDT (4:00 p.m. EDT) and 4:00 p.m. PDT (7:00 p.m. EDT) until Thursday, June 12. A list of upcoming episodes can be seen online at: http://www.renmanmb.com/articles/renman-live-onyoutube.

“On my web show, Renman Live, I’ve been lucky to have had some of the smartest, most talented people in the music biz join me to share their stories, insights and advice with aspiring artists and music pros who need some inspiration and direction. If you are interested in the music biz, watching an episode of Renman Live is the next best thing to sitting on the couch with me and my guests.”

Guests who have appeared on Renman Live include Nate Reuss (FUN.), Pretty Lights, Brandon Boyd (Incubus), Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides), Grouplove, Paul Tollett (Founder, Coachella), Charles Attal (Founder, Lollapalooza), Kevin Lyman (Founder, Warped Tour), Troy Carter (Manager, John Mayer), Richard Griffiths (Manager, One Direction), Pat Magnarella (Manager, Green Day), Tom Corson (President, RCA), Mike Caren (President A&R, Warner Bros), Aaron Bay-Schuck (A&R Exec, Bruno Mars) and many more.

Over the last 36 years, Renman Music & Business mastermind, Steve Rennie, has become one of the most successful and respected professionals in today’s music business. He has amassed a broad swath of experience as a concert promoter (Sr. VP Avalon Attractions now Live Nation 1984-1990), record company executive (Sr. VP GM Epic Records 1994-1998), internet entrepreneur (ArtistDirect 1998-2000) and artist manager (Incubus 1998-2014). Now, he is dedicating himself to mentoring this next generation of artists and music pros who will shape the music industry of the future.

In 2012, Rennie founded Renman Music & Business: http://www.renmanmb.com, an online education portal for the music industry. His webcast, Renman Live, has livestreamed over 90 episodes to date, while Renman U – a 12-week insider’s guide to today’s music biz – wrapped up last month.